• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Standard American (Query)

#1 User is offline   Lesh18 

• PipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2012-February-21, 21:47

Hey folks

As a beginner I have finally decided to study Standard American bidding system, much to the fact that the nice teaching program I'm using "ACBL How to play Bridge" focuses just on this one.

I am just in the "opening bidding", and I understand all 1-level opening bids and 2-level also. But I do not really know, what should I bid when my hand is below 13 points, and I have 6 club cards. Apparently I cannot bid 2C, since 2C is a strong hand 22+ points. :D So what should I bid? Or is this case just negligible and should I pass?

(I am not interested how you would play such a hand based on your precious experience. I want to know what the Modern Standard American suggests)

And also, if my opponent starts bidding, and he passes straight away, and it is my turn, am I considered to be opening the bidding, so can I use all those conventions that apply to the person who opens the bidding? What if my partner starts, he passes, then my opponent passes and then I am to bid: am I again considered to be an opening bidder? Or when there are 3 consecutive passes before my on the first round of bidding: am I considered an open bidder as well? Thank you!!

Lesh

#2 User is offline   Cthulhu D 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Overbidding

Posted 2012-February-21, 22:01

Yes, you do not have a weak 2 clubs availible, so either you have to bid 1 or 3C (Be careful here, I would not do it routinely), or pass. See Bunnygo below.

In all your examples you are the 'opening bidder' and your partner is called 'responder' as you are the first person to make a bid other than pass.