BBO Discussion Forums: The budget battles - BBO Discussion Forums

• 49 Pages +
  • « First
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

The budget battles Is discussion possible?

#341 User is online   kenberg 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2011-July-13, 07:19

View Postblackshoe, on 2011-July-12, 18:25, said:

"Self-regulating markets and laissez faire business models" might or might not work, but since we've not had such in this country (certainly not in my lifetime, or my parents') it's hard to say.

I am no expert on economic history, here or elsewhere, but my general understanding is that this was settled in the early 1900s. In the 1800s we built railroads. Sure, John Henry was a steel driving man, throwing twelve pounds from his hips on down, and all that. But many railway workers, especially Chinese, worked in brutal conditions. Women and very young children worked in sweatshops for long hours and low pay, and sometimes they died there. Coal miners died. They still do, but not as often and at least they get paid. The old song goes "St. Peter don't you call me 'cause I can't go, I owe my soul to the company store". I don't think this is a fantasy.

Growing up in the middle of the last century I saw that a normal guy could have a good life by working hard and not acting like a fool. This had a lot to do with the power of unions and with government imposed reforms. Without a doubt the world is now a much more complicated place. I doubt that de-regulation, leaving corporations to act as they please, is the answer.
Ken

#342 User is offline   blackshoe 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2011-July-13, 08:50

And yet, with all your vaunted government regulation of corporations, the tobacco industry still got away with fraud for an awfully long time. Maybe they would have done the same in a completely free market, maybe not. So no, I don't think anything was "settled".