BBO Discussion Forums: How to play better in robot matches? - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How to play better in robot matches?

#1 User is offline   micsfyuen 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2022-October-10, 19:19

I started playing in the daylong reward tournaments last week. They are match point tournaments with 1 player+3 advanced robots at each table. I keep getting only 48%-55% scores and do not seem to find any way to break through and get better scores.

I review the 16 boards every time, I could find possible improvements to score up to ~57%, but nowhere near getting the top scores.

I saw some players exploit the robot behaviour to score high, e.g. NV overcall 4N over 1N opening to sacrifice when robots would not X. Are there any skills or tricks that could help me play better in robot tournaments?

#2 User is online   smerriman 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2022-October-10, 22:09

One thing worth noting is that 'getting near the top scores' and 'playing better' aren't necessarily the same thing.

Even if you played every board you receive perfectly, you still may not be able to get anywhere near the top scores in a 16 board tournament, because to make it harder to cheat, not everybody plays the same hands. So you may well receive a bunch of flat hands (where it's impossible to score much more than 50% no matter what you do), while the top scorers received a lot of swingy hands.