BBO Discussion Forums: It would be nice to be able to participate in the bidders challenge - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

It would be nice to be able to participate in the bidders challenge

#1 User is offline   smerriman 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2022-September-11, 23:59

Earlier this year, I posted a comment on one of the BBO news articles (by Roman Weil). The next day it was published, as have been other comments in the past, and I think Roman had even replied to it. A few days later, I look again to see if anyone else commented, and the comment is gone entirely. Odd, but OK.

A few times over the next couple of months, I post other comments on other topics, including one asking a question about how the bidder's challenge works. Comments by other people show up, but never mine. Being a WordPress developer myself, I start to wonder if my earlier comment got accidentally marked as spam, meaning all my others are going directly into spam. Meh, not a big deal.

After 7 months in the BBO bidder's challenge, I was in 11th place overall.

BBO then shifted the submissions to the same website that runs the blog.

At exactly 3:29pm NZST, July 24 according to my browser history, I submitted my bids. The submission went through, though I did note that it was a bit odd that it didn't send me a confirmation. But, the rules make it clear that resubmitting means you get disqualified, so I left things as is.

When the panel results came out later, I calculated my total - my best ever, 77 points IIRC. But the results come out, and I'm given 0, and completely off the leaderboard. Now I'm certain all my submission to the website are being marked as spam.