BBO Discussion Forums: How do I bid this? - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1

How do I bid this?

#1 User is offline   1parastoo 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2022-January-29, 20:19

Hi,
I'm North. My partner opened light with three quick tricks.I've got 15 and 16 or 18 pts. if you count length or dummy pts. in my hand[North].I see the singleton and with the distribution I'm thinking of slam.It might be stupid but I'm a beginner,sort of. I can't control bid as far as I know because the way my partner and I learned it you can't bid controls below 3 Spades. I can see two ways to bid to tell partner I might be interested in something other than just game; 3 Diamonds OR 4 Clubs as a splinter bid. If it's 4 Clubs an astute partner would think " we have a fit in Hearts, why does he want to play in Clubs? I know,it's a splinter bid, but if he has enough points for game why didn't he just bid game? I get it now, he's interested in slam!" So does anyone have any suggestions about bidding this hand? I don't know how to put in a question mark for my second bid.
Thanks,
Mark

#2 User is offline   Stephen Tu 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2022-January-29, 20:52

I don't think you are a beginner if splinter comes to mind. It is the normal descriptive action, if playing with a non-beginner partner who knows about splinters and can take the appropriate inferences and cooperate only with suitable hands. 3D is much worse, more ambiguous since it might be only trying for game not slam depending on agreements, and you won't be able to unambiguously show a stiff club later.

#3 User is online   mikeh 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Bridge, golf, wine (red), cooking, reading eclectically but insatiably, travelling, making bad posts.

Posted 2022-January-29, 21:03

I’m going to leave splinter out, since I agree with Stephen. But make your hand say Axx KQJxx KQx xx and you might well at least consider slam…picture x Axxx xxx AKxxx.